How Great is Our God

Well, my father and I have been back from Costa Rica for twelve days now and are slowly getting back into the routine of life. However, I must say that my horizons have been greatly enlarged by this trip. I look to the future now with hope, joy, and optimism.

When heading to Costa Rica, I was filled with doubts and apprehensions. I did not feel adequate to face the work, meet new people, and attempt to speak Spanish! These tasks seemed impossible. On the first Sunday we were there, my dad shared a message. The main point of the sermon was that God does not call us to do mediocre things or good things or great things, God calls us to do the impossible. Through God all things are possible. How very fitting this message was! Throughout the rest of the trip, it basically became the motto for many people. I realized that I could only make it through the next two weeks by following in God’s footsteps.

That being said, the whole trip was amazing! I was part of the children’s team and what an adventure that was. We met the team on one day, organized who would do what the next, and learned to work together the day after that! The team was a beautiful mixture of young people and people with experience. With lots of help from God, we pulled together and had a great first day. It wasn’t perfect of course, but for a first day, it was great! By the end of the two weeks, we had had a lot of practice and were quite the efficient team.

God did some amazing things on this trip. I was amazed at the miraculous events I witnessed, and there was definitely more I am sure. He worked through the medical team, the construction team, the children’s team, and the pastoral team. All these separate teams together were able to bring a witness  of the glory of God in every Church we served. I look back and can only say, in great awe and wonder, how great is our God.

I have not written anything specific about each day, but I may write a short resume shortly. However, another team member and my dad both wrote about it. If you are interested in reading their side of the story, here are the links to their blogs:

http://johngaucher.wordpress.com/

http://valleyroads.wordpress.com/

 

Leave a comment